AuPS Logo

The Michael Roberts Excellence in Physiology Education Award

The Michael Roberts Excellence in Physiology Education Award is an award bestowed periodically by the Australian Physiological Society in memory of Professor Michael Roberts who was a lifelong passionate and dedicated advocate of physiology teaching and education.

The award is intended to recognise AuPS members who have demonstrated a sustained performance of excellence in the delivery of physiology education at the tertiary level, and make a contribution to the teaching activities of AuPS. In considering nominations, the judges will take into account the nominee's contributions to scientific meetings of the Society.

The recipient of this award will be presented with a medal and a cash award, at the conference dinner in the year of the award, and will be invited to deliver a keynote lecture at the Educational Symposium in the following year's AuPS conference.


The award is open to ordinary financial members of the Australian Physiological Society who are actively engaged in physiology education.

Selection Criteria

Candidates should provide a single page argued case for their nomination and a Curriculum Vitae. Evidence of achievement and impact could include any of the following: letters of support from colleagues familiar with the teaching environment, detail of sustained high level teaching evaluation, student recognition, awards, success in obtaining substantial educational research funding and publications.

Closing date for applications is 27th October 2018.

Email applications to:

National Secretary
Dr Deanne Hryciw
Griffith University
School of Natural Sciences
Queensland 4111
+61 7 3735 3601

Past winners can be viewed in the Archive