Adelaide 2016 meeting

AuPS/ASB 2016 Adelaide - Invited Lectures

Julia Choate

Dr Julia Choate

Monash University, Australia

AuPS Roberts Prize Presentation: Preparing our students for employment with in-curriculum skills development

Dr Julia Choate is the director of undergraduate physiology education and the deputy program convenor of the Bachelor of Biomedical Science Course at Monash University. She is passionate about enhancing students’ university experiences and equipping them for life-long learning, using novel guided-inquiry lectures (for large cohorts) to improve student participation, understanding and skills development and developing students’ employability skills with an in-curriculum professional development program. The guided-inquiry lectures use a learning cycle of exploration, concept invention and application to guide students in constructing new knowledge, as well as developing their problem solving and communication skills, and were acknowledged with a 2016 Dean’s award (Excellence in Education). The professional development program was developed in response to high levels of biomedical student anxiety and stress (especially about their careers options). This course-wide program raises student awareness of potential careers and their employability skills, assists them to effectively communicate their skills and is assessed via a transferable electronic portfolio. Julia is on the Higher Education Research and Development Society of Australasia Victorian Executive and is the recipient of a 2016 Monash Education Academy fellowship.

Lea Delbridge

Professor Lea Delbridge

Department of Physiology, Australia

AuPS Invited Lecture: Cardiac adventures in autophagy

Prof Lea Delbridge heads the Cardiac Phenomics Laboratory in the Department of Physiology at the University of Melbourne. Her research goals are to understand structural and functional cardiopathology in different forms of diabetic and hypertrophic cardiomyopathy. Her current work is supported by NHMRC and ARC funding. Lea has published ∼120 peer reviewed papers in many top-discipline journals. She completed her PhD at the University of Melbourne, and had training positions at Dalhousie University (Halifax, Canada) and at Loyola University (Chicago, USA) as an International Fellow of the American Heart Association. Lea is elected World Council Secretary General of the International Society of Heart Research (ISHR) and was President of the Australasian ISHR Section 2007-2013. She is an elected Fellow of the Cardiac Society of Aust & New Zealand and Council member of the Australian Physiological Society (AuPS). She is an editorial board member for a number of international journals, including J Molecular & Cellular Cardiology, Frontiers in Physiology and Am J Physiol (Heart).

Suzanne Scarlata

Professor Suzanne Scarlata

Worcester Polytechnic Institute, USA

Plenary Lecture: Caveolae membrane domains connect G protein-mediated calcium signals with mechanical deformation

Suzanne Scarlata's research uses biophysical approaches, and in particular advanced fluorescence imaging methods, to understand the regulation of G protein signaling in living cells, and how these signals in turn impacts cell function including post-transcriptional gene regulation. Prof. Scarlata began her career as a staff scientist at AT&T Bell Laboratories before joining the faculty at Cornell Medical College in New York. She later moved to the Dept of Physiology & Biophysics at Stony Brook University on Long Island NY where she became a full professor. Last year, she accepted the Richard Whitcomb endowed chair at Worcester Polytechnic Institute in Worcester, Massachusetts. Dr. Scarlata was an American Heart Association Established Investigator and has had continuous supported from the National Institutes of Health. She is currently associate editor of the Journal of Bioenergetics and Biomembranes and has served as a member of the editorial boards of BBA Biomembranes (2009-16), Analytical Biochemistry (2002-15), and the Journal of Biological Chemistry (2004-09). She is currently serving as President of the Biophysical Society.

Supported by an ARC Georgina Sweet Travel Support Award

Valid HTML 4.01!