AuPS Meeting AuPS

November 2021
Gold Coast, Qld

Invited Lectures

Register Now

AuPS Invited Lecture

Prof Matthew Watt

University of Melbourne

TBC, Monday, 22nd November

Title: TBC

Professor Matthew Watt has been announced as the AuPS Invited Lecturer for the 60th AuPS Scientific Meeting. This is a well-deserved honour given Prof Watt's considerable scientific contributions to physiology and his long-term service and leadership to AuPS.

AuPS Plenary Lecture

Prof David Adams

University of Woolongong


Title: TBC

Distinguished Professor David Adams is CEO and Executive Director of the Illawarra Health & Medical Research Institute (IHMRI), University of Wollongong since December 2015.

David has been an elected Council member of the Australian Physiological Society (AuPS; 1995-98, 2003-04) and is a past President of AuPS (2004-10). He is a member of four Editorial Boards of international scientific journals and is an ARC grant reviewer, a member of NHMRC Ideas Grant Review Panel and member of NSW Cardiovascular Disease Research Advisory Committee (2018-22). His research focuses on membrane receptors and ion channels which has been continuously funded by an NHMRC Project and Program Grants (2005-19) and ARC Discovery Grants.

David is internationally recognised for his contributions to membrane physiology, in particular that of ion channel function and modulation using electrophysiological recording techniques. In the last 20 years, he has identified novel venom-derived peptides (conotoxins) from cone snails as probes for ion channel structure and function and to identify novel pain therapeutics. This research has focused on investigating conotoxins that selectively target the voltage-gated sodium and calcium channels, nicotinic acetylcholine receptors, and G protein-coupled receptor modulation of calcium and potassium channels.

AuPS Michael Roberts Prize Lectures
(2019 winner)

Assoc Prof Andrew Moorhouse

UNSW Sydney


Title: TBC

Assoc Prof Andrew Moorhouse was awarded the 2019 Michael Roberts Price for excellence in teaching.

Andrew was delighted to receive the Michael Roberts award in 2019, being nominated for "a sustained and collegial contribution to excellence in Physiology education at a National and International level, and for the development of innovative Physiology teaching activities". He has built a strong national and International profile in teaching development and leadership, but is happiest when engaging directly with students and inspiring them to develop awe and understanding of the discipline. At UNSW Sydney he contributes to the teaching of over 1500 students per year in Science and Medicine, through course development, lectures, practicals and online learning. Andrew is currently Head of Physiology Teaching at UNSW Sydney, and the Education Officer for AuPS.

AuPS Michael Roberts Prize Lectures
(2020 winner)

Dr Charles Sevigny

UNSW Sydney


Title: Maintaining an Individualised Student-Centred Experience in Blended, technology-Enhanced Learning

Dr Charles Sevigny was awarded the 2020 Michael Roberts Price for excellence in teaching.

Charles is the proud recipient of the 2020 Michael Roberts award, cited for his "active engagement and excellence in teaching and learning, focus and development of digital learning modalities in the School and recognition of his outstanding pastoral care". Charles is the Director of Digital Learning for the School of Biomedical Sciences and the Director of Teaching and Learning in the Department of Anatomy and Physiology at the University of Melbourne. He also coordinates three units and delivers over 100 lectures per year to more than 1200 students. These combined interests in digitally-enabled and face-to-face teaching are underpinned by the desire to deliver a blended, student centred experience which involves students as individuals despite online learning and large class sizes.