Invited Lectures

Conference Handbook Proceedings (v52)

AuPS Invited Lecture

Prof Janna Morrison

5pm, Sunday 20th November 2022

Seeing the baby grow: MRI to measure placental and cardiac function in the fetus

Abstract 1I

Janna obtained her Masters in Physiology from the University of Western Ontario in 1998 and her PhD in Reproductive and Developmental Sciences from the University of British Columbia in 2001. She completed a post doc at the University of Toronto in respiratory physiology and then moved to Adelaide. She completed a postdoc at the University of Adelaide where she held Heart and Stroke Foundation of Canada and then National Heart Foundation Postdoctoral fellowships. She moved to University of South Australia in 2006 with the award of another NHF PDF. Since then, she has held 3 NHMRC/NHF Career Development Fellowships and an ARC Future Fellowship. She is an internationally recognised physiologist, with adjunct positions at the prestigious Sick Kids Hospital and University of Toronto. In the last 5 years she has been awarded over >$7M of funding as CIA and published over 200 peer-reviewed articles. Janna served on the AuPS executive council 2014-2017 and organised the annual meeting in Adelaide in 2016.

Professor Janna Morrison is Director of Health and Biomedical Innovation at the University of South Australia and Head of the Early Origins of Adult Health Research Group. She is a Fellow of the Cardiovascular Section of the American Physiological Society. She is Reviewing Editor for the Journal of Physiology and Editor of Themed Issues for the Journal of the Developmental Origins of Adult Health.

Her research focusses on how the fetal cardiovascular system responds to changes in nutrient supply during pregnancy, using MRI to study blood flow and oxygenation in preclinical models of fetal growth restriction. Her work in the field of fetal physiology, where she is pioneering the use of MRI to detect the cardiovascular effects of fetal growth restriction with the goal of improving heart health across the lifespan.

AuPS Plenary Lecture

Prof Michael Karin

UC San Diego

2pm, Tuesday 22nd November 2022

FBP1 is a nonenzymatic safety valve that prevents insulin hyperresponsiveness

Abstract 52I

Dr. Michael Karin received his BSc in Biology from Tel Aviv University in 1975 and his Ph.D. in Molecular Biology from the University of California Los Angeles in 1979. He is currently a Distinguished Professor of Pharmacology and Pathology at the University of California San Diego School of Medicine, where he has been on the faculty since 1986. Dr. Karin has received numerous awards, including the Endocrine Society Oppenheimer Award for Excellence in 1990, American Cancer Society Research Professorship in 1999, C.E.R.I.E.S. Research Award for Physiology or Biology of the Skin in 2000, Harvey Prize in Human Health in 2011, Brupbacher Prize in Cancer Research in 2013, William B. Coley Award for Distinguished Research in Basic and Tumor Immunology in 2013, and an honorary Doctor of Medicine from the Technical University of Munich. He was a cofounder of Signal Pharmaceutical, which has become a part of Celgene, Inc. Dr. Karin had also served as a member of the National Advisory Council for Environmental Health Sciences. Dr. Karin was elected as a member of the US National Academy of Sciences in 2005, the National Academy of Medicine in 2011 and as an associate member of the European Molecular Biology Association in 2007. He became a fellow of the American Association for Cancer Research Academy in 2017. Dr Karin has over 300,000 career citations and an H index of 272 (Google Scholar). Dr. Karin's current activity primarily focuses on understanding the relationship between inflammation, cancer, and metabolic disease as well as the signaling mechanisms used by receptors involved in inflammation and innate immunity. In addition to discovering some of the most important stress- and inflammation-responsive signal transduction pathways and establishing molecular links between obesity, inflammation and cancer, Dr. Karin's work has revealed new targets for cancer prevention and therapy as well as for the treatment of non-alcoholic steatohepatitis (NASH) and other metabolic diseases.

AuPS Michael Roberts Prize Lectures
(2020 winner)

Dr Charles Sevigny

University of Melbourne

12pm, Tuesday 22nd November

Empowering student ownership through flexibility, authenticity, and co-creation

Abstract 40I

Dr Charles Sevigny is the proud recipient of the 2020 Michael Roberts award, cited for his "active engagement and excellence in teaching and learning, focus and development of digital learning modalities in the School and recognition of his outstanding pastoral care". Charles is the Director of Digital Learning for the School of Biomedical Sciences and the Director of Teaching and Learning in the Department of Anatomy and Physiology at the University of Melbourne. He also coordinates three units and delivers over 100 lectures per year to more than 1200 students. These combined interests in digitally-enabled and face-to-face teaching are underpinned by the desire to deliver a blended, student centred experience which involves students as individuals despite online learning and large class sizes.

AuPS Michael Roberts Prize Lectures
(2021 winner)

Assoc.Prof Christian Moro

Bond University

12pm, Tuesday 22nd November

The school of hard knocks: what did not work when introducing technology-enhanced learning to physiology lectures, labs and workshops.

Abstract 41I

Associate Professor Christian Moro was awarded the 2021 Michael Roberts Prize for excellence in teaching. Christian is the Science and Scholarship Domain Lead and Head of Physiology within the Bond University Medical Program. Christian is an active teaching academic, developing and investigating evidence-based resources for medical, health and science education. In this role, he has created a range of novel technological tools that enhance learning, participation and interaction in both university and clinical settings. Christian runs the YouTube and Instagram educational channels, Physiology with Christian, with his teaching practices receiving a number of recent awards alongside this AuPS recognition, including the QS Reimagine Award (USA/UK), Australian AAUT Teaching Excellence Award, The Australian Financial Review Higher Education Award, the ASCILITE Innovation Award and the Physiological Society (UK) David Jordan Teaching Award.

Thank You to our Meeting Sponsors