AuPS Physiology Education

Events and Workshops      AuPS Education Prize    Education Officer      Resources & Links      

As a society it is important for AuPS to be actively involved in the current debates concerning the professional development of the tertiary teaching of physiology.

Education Events & Workshops

AuPS Conference

The annual AuPS conference features a Physiology Education Workshop, Symposium, free communication session and poster presentations.

2018 Meeting

National Collaborative Writing Group

The National Collaborative Writing Group for teaching specialists/teaching-focussed academics in the Higher Education science/biomedical science realm

The idea to establish such a group at the national level was borne from the ISSOTL writing opportunity (2015) in which a number of internationally diverse academics formed a series of writing groups to produce articles about Scholarship of Teaching and Learning for publication.

If you're interested in participating, please email Amber Willems-Jones at by 31st January 2018, with your name, position & institution, discipline, and your topic of interest (up to 3, each topic should be 10 words or less, for example: Impact of targeted self-regulated learning strategies in practical classes). Areas of interest may include: The gender balance in Higher Ed teaching focussed positions; Inquiry-based learning; Self-regulated learning; Using technology to promote student engagement; Teaching graduate attributes; etc.

Information will be collated in February 2018 with groups to be established by March/April 2018 for a 12-month collaborative writing process. Groups will be established based on suggested topics and members will be allocated to groups based on their topic of interest. Additional communication regarding topics will be provided in February.

It is anticipated that each group will have a 'champion' to take the lead, so please feel free to let me know if you are particularly passionate about your topic and if you'd like to take on this role.

Teaching Excellence

The society supports excellence in Physiology Education with its Michael Roberts Excellence in Teaching Award. The award started in 2010 in memory of Dr Michael Roberts.

The 2017 prize was awarded to A/Prof Glen Wadley, Deakin University.

As part of this award, A/Prof Wadley has been invited to present the Michael Roberts Prize lecture at the 2018 AuPS Meeting in Sydney.

Past winners of the Michael Roberts Excellence in Teaching Award

Year Name Department (at time of award) Title of Keynote Lecture Issue, Page
2010 Phil Poronnik Health Innovations Research Institute, School of Medical Sciences,RMIT University,Vic Australia. Rigour or rigor mortis: a challenge for physiology 41, 11P
2011 Yvonne Hodgson Biomedical Sciences, Monash University, Victoria. Developing assessment as a collaborative endeavour. 43, 8P
2012 David Saint Department of Physiology, The Medical School, University of Adelaide, South Australia. Learning and teaching - the rear view mirror and the road ahead 44, 2P
2013 Kay Colthorpe School of Biomedical Sciences, The University of Queensland, St Lucia, QLD. From active learning to self-regulated learning 45, 63P
2014 Deanne Hryciw Department of Physiology, University of Melbourne, Parkville, VIC. Communicating science: how do we teach undergraduates to become scientists? 46, 44P
2015 Julia Choate Department of Physiology, Monash University, Clayton, VIC. Enhancing students’ university experiences by engaging them with their course and equipping them for life-long learning 47, 184P
2016 Kathy Tangalakis Victoria University,
Melbourne, VIC.
Enhancing the commencing student learning experience with Innovative learning and teaching approaches and peer support systems 48, 72P
2017 Glenn Wadley Deakin University,
Melbourne, VIC.

AuPS Education Officer

The Educational Representative on Council is a Dr Julia Choate

Dr Choate is a senior lecturer at the Department of Physiology, Monash University where she has been teaching physiology for over 16 years. Dr Choate was recently awarded the 2016 Vice-Chancellor's Award for Teaching Excellence at Monash University and was also the 2015 AuPS Michael Robert Prize winner.

Links and Resources